It happened—you now have a suspended NC driver’s license. You can’t drive. How will you get to work or school? Are you stuck with public transportation and bumming rides from friends and relatives? Not necessarily.
In North Carolina, you can drive again after a suspended license, but not while the license is suspended. That, of course, is another charge, and you could see your suspension period increased face large fines and even the loss of your car.
Reasons You May Receive A Suspended NC Driver’s License
One of the determining factors may be why your license was suspended. Those reasons dictate the time period for a suspension, including
- Speeding, at 55 mph or higher, 15 MPH over the limit, 30 days or more
- Accumulation of 12 points in 3 years (see below)
- DUI (driving under the influence)
- Illegal street racing, 3 years (includes the loss of your car)
- Driving with a suspended or revoked license
- Civil revocations, such as refusing to take a blood alcohol test (30 days or until you comply with a court order)
- Failure to appear and/or pay fine, indefinite
A combination of more than one traffic offense can increase your suspension period.
License Restoration After Suspension
A license suspension is for a period of time, and your driving privileges are reinstated after that time period. You will not have to retake the driving test or apply for a new license, but you can request a hearing to appeal the suspension. An experienced attorney can help you with your hearing and appeal.
When your suspension period is over, you’ll get your license back by:
- Paying a $65 restoration fee to the North Carolina DMV
- Pay a $50 service fee to the DMV if you didn’t surrender your license to the DMV at the time of suspension
- Pay an additional $130 fee if you’ve been convicted of DUI (driving under the influence) and it was the reason your license was suspended in the first place
Revocation, on the other hand, is a termination of your driving privileges, and requires a longer process to be reinstated, including re-taking the driving test and applying for a new license.
You can also request an administrative hearing by calling the DMV in Raleigh.
Anytime you commit a traffic violation, you’ll accumulate “points” on your driving record. When you reach 12 points in a three-year period, your license will be suspended for 60 days. Subsequent accumulations will yield longer suspensions.
If you have more than seven points on your record, you can drop three points off your record by taking a $50 Driver Improvement Clinic. You can attend one of these clinics every five years, and remove three points each time.
You Can Drive Again
Reinstating your suspended NC driver’s license after a suspension takes time and a little patience. Attorney Dewey P. Brinkley is your best chance in Raleigh for getting your license back and your driving privileges restored. He can work with you to navigate the appeals process, and defend you in any court hearing. Call today: 919-832-0307 (or contact him online) to schedule an appointment for your free initial consultation.