A suspended license is bad enough. There’s a process you have to complete in order to have your North Carolina driver’s license reinstated, and it costs money. On top of that, you still need insurance. But once your insurance company discovers your license is suspended, there’s a strong chance you’ll be paying more for your auto insurance.
Reasons For Suspension
License suspensions happen for a number of different reasons. North Carolina uses the “point” system, and even a single point can raise your insurance rates without a suspension. After you’ve accumulated seven points, the state requires you to take a Driver Improvement Clinic. If you accumulate 12 points in a three year period, your license could be suspended anywhere from 60 days up to a year.
Suspension for risky driving behavior may cause your insurance company to cancel your policy. The most common reasons are moving violations, such as:
- Felony with a motor vehicle
- Vehicular homicide
- Evading a police officer
- Reckless driving
- Driving without insurance
- Reckless endangerment in a construction zone
Your driver’s license can also be suspended for non-vehicle related reasons, such as:
- Court probation and violations
- Failing to pay child support
- Acts of fraud
- Leaving a child unattended in a running vehicle
- Undergoing rehab for an alcohol and/or chemical dependency
- Failure to appear in court for parking or other tickets
Some insurers may not raise rates for non-vehicular suspensions, but that varies by company.
If your North Carolina driver’s license is suspended long-term, you may be considering cancelling your insurance until your license is renewed. This may not be a good idea, since getting re-insured later may cost more. A non-owner’s policy may be available through your insurer to keep you insured until you can drive again. You may also consider shopping around for new insurers before you cancel completely.
Whether your suspension is temporary or is a permanent revocation, it is a permanent part of your driving record.
North Carolina’s process for reinstating a driver’s license begins when you receive a letter informing you that your license is suspended. Depending on the reason why your license was suspended, you may request an administrative hearing by contacting the central DMV office in Raleigh. You can contact the office by phone: (919) 715-7000, or by mail:
Driver License Hearings
3118 Mail Service Center
Raleigh, NC 27697
When your suspension period is completed, or you’ve been restored through a hearing, you’ll have to visit a NC DMV office, re-apply for your license, and pay a restoration fee of $65 (or $130 if it was for DUI), as well as a $50 service fee.
If your suspension was for a non-vehicular reason, such as nonpayment of child support, you will need to comply with the provisions of the agency or court that issued the suspension.
Once your North Carolina driver’s license is restored, all points are then cancelled.
Return To The Driver’s Seat
A suspended or revoked license doesn’t mean your driving days are over. You can get your license back, even if it does take time. Need help? North Carolina driver’s license suspension attorney Dewey P. Brinkley is your best chance in Raleigh for getting your license back and your driving privileges restored. He can help you through the appeals process and defend you in court. Call today: 919-832-0307 (or contact him online) to schedule an appointment for your free initial consultation.